Online Learning Advisory Committee Minutes from September 13, 2016, Stevens Hall 104, 2:00 pm.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Jill Simpson. Those present were:

Dr. Linda Austin

Mr. Andrew Barton

Dr. Andrea Hunt

Ms. Diane Kutz

Dr. Marilyn Lee

Dr. Natasha Lindsey

Dr. Lamont Maddox

Mr. Derek Malone

Ms. Prema Monteiro

Mr. Ron Patterson

Dr. Craig Robertson

Dr. Jill Simpson

Ms. Stephanie Mohr (recognized proxy for Ms. Lynn Underwood)

Mr. John McGee

Minutes & Agenda

Agenda for current meeting was amended to have vice chair elections as the first item. Ms. Prema Monteiro was nominated by Dr. Craig Robertson, and was unanimously approved as vice chair for the 2016-17 academic year. Minutes were approved from the April 28th meeting with no corrections.

Old Business

Captioning –A working group was formed to outline the process for implementing the issues presented in the Course Captioning memo sent to, and reviewed by Shared Governance Executive Committee (SGEC). The working group will include a representative from each College, Educational Technology Services (ETS), Student Government Association (SGA), Library, and Disability Support Service (DSS), as follows:

College of Arts & Sciences - Dr. Craig Robertson

College of Business - Ms. Diane Kutz

College of Education and Human Sciences - Dr. Lamont Maddox

College of Nursing - Dr. Marilyn Lee

ETS - Dr. Natasha Lindsey

DSS - Dr. Mary Bowers

Library Faculty - Mr. Derek Malone

SGA - Mr. Andrew Barton

New Business

Spring Online Learning Conference – A working group of Dr. Craig Robertson, Dr. Jill Simpson and Dr. Andrea Hunt, was formed to plan for the Spring Online Learning Conference. Dr. Natasha Lindsey suggested that a survey be created and sent out to determine topics that would interest attendees.

Availability of online courses – Mr. John McGee raised the issue of several online courses not being available to students even a few days after the official start of classes.

Meeting adjourned at 2:40 pm.